graphical site

Welcome to Pembrokeshire Youth Zone

<< back

Duke of Edinburgh's Awards


Thirty-four young people from all over Pembrokeshire are to receive their Gold Duke of Edinburgh's Award certificates this autumn at St James Palace.

They are among 426 young people in Pembrokeshire who have achieved Gold Awards since 2000.

To achieve a Gold Duke of Edinburgh's Award, participants need to do voluntary work in the community, learn a new sport, and learn a new skill.

They must also complete two separate four-day hiking expeditions over 50 miles of mountainous countryside, taking everything they need and without an adult leader.

The young people invited to the presentations at St James Palace are:


Pembroke School


Joseph Colman

Rhiannon Jones

Cara O'Toole

Nicola O'Toole

Carolyn Phillips

Margareta Sucic



Sir Thomas Picton School


Sophie Raymond

Rebecca Williams



Greenhill School


Nicholas Burnley-Hall

Elizabeth Longster

Jack Oakley

Jacquetta Watts



Fishguard Open Award Centre


Gemma Davies

Freya Edwards

Hayley Lewis




Pembrokeshire College


Thomas Horton




Ysgol y Preseli


Christopher Thomas

Rachel Boulton

Carys Davies

Caryl Thomas

Fiona Williams

Rhys Newton



Ysgol Dewi Sant


Victoria Alderwick

Matthew Hemming

Lucinda Jowett

Robert Mann

Rhys Morgan




Milford Haven School


Kate Gwilliam

James Jeffreys

Geraint James

Alexandra Jordan

Sarah White




Haverfordwest Community Learning Centre

Ben Whitfield




Crymych Open Award Unit


Rhian Pugh



Pictured on one of their expeditions is a group of Gold Award achievers from Greenhill School, on the summit of Pumlumon Fawr, the highest point of the Cambrian Mountains

ID: 509   Revised: 12/3/2013

SUB LEVEL Navigation Menu

Whats On |
News |
Events |
Features |
The Zone Magazine |
Pembrokeshire Youth News |
Clic National Events |


Information |
What's On |
Directory of Services |
Children and Young People's Partnership |
On the Web |
Contact Us

Designed and Developed by Pembrokeshire County Council

Copyright © 2014 Pembrokeshire Youth Zone